Tags

I was looking over my finances today to try and budget for going to London for a few days in April, and the only thing I could process was ‘how on earth am I spending this much money???’

I mean, okay.  I’ve had to move, and the £100 increase in rent was inevitable.  But I’m no longer paying for my Internet or having to bus into work so it shouldn’t make this much of a difference.  So why is it that I can’t seem to stay within my current spending budget? 

This city is an expensive one to live in, but as I try and write down everything I’m buying, I can’t figure out why I don’t have money left over at the end of the month.  I’m not buying clothes or DVD’s or Manga.  I walk everywhere and plan any major expenses (hello haircuts and cosplay) in advance.  The convention was an expense I struggled with, but it was an expected expense.  Now I’m looking to find places to cut spending, and finding none I can – yet still have nothing left over despite cutting out expenses beforehand.

To put it simply, I receive about £1100 a month.  More than enough you would think, to keep myself solvent.  But as I start adding up all the little things, it starts to dawn that in the real world, that’s not as much as I think it is.  Between rent, bills, Taekwondo, and the money I’m already putting in savings and my holiday funds, there’s very little left at the end of the day.

I’m still suffering from my old two job mentality.  Leaving my part time job was the best decision I could have made – if I hadn’t I would have collapsed from exhaustion before the end of the year, but I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that I don’t have that additional £200 coming in each month.  Began putting stuff up on EBay again, but finding there’s a distinct lack of interest this time around – only sold a handful of things, nowhere near the dozens and dozens that I was last year. 

Though I’m loathe to admit it, with the London Book Fair, Ayacon in August, and my great Perth Trek, the Part Time adverts I’m spotting in windows are looking more and more appealing.  Although I love the sheer amount of free time not working 2 jobs gives me, I may have to accept that my quality of life just can’t be sustained on one wage.  Least not without changing the job that the wage comes from – sadly not an option.

Course, I’m being optimistic too.  Any job I apply for will have tons of competition – its one thing to say I’ll get another job again, another thing entirely to actually get it.  But there are a few in this street, it can’t hurt to put in an application form and see what my prospects are at least.

