Tags

It’s that time of year again.  Minamicon is this weekend and I am set for a weekend of working, filming and generally trying to enjoy myself.  Of course in order to get there, I have had to endure the worst part of any convention – the day before.

On the plus sides, I’m not making any new costumes so I haven’t had to pull any all nighters, and I’m getting a sleeper train down which saves me the hassle of booking an extra night.  However, this does mean I have to get everything done today, and despite not having a costume to finish, it seems to take forever.  I have stuff to sell, costumes to pack, normal clothing to pack, a slew of electronics to pack, paperwork to pack…the list goes on.

Made even more annoying by my system.  I’ve hit a dead wall because I can’t pack my bag any further until my computer is packed up.  And it still hasn’t finished uploading the information I need onto my portable hard drive.  So I’m sort of sitting around, well aware I have only 2 hours left before I have to leave, waiting for it to bloody hurry up and finish so I can get the last of my things done and be ready to get out the door.  Thank the lords I’m not doing a costume or I’d probably have suffered a mental breakdown by now.

It’s kind of strange how bad I feel for this one.  I’m always nervous that I’ll forget something or I’m running out of time, but considering I’m not making a costume, I think I just generally feel forgetful because of it.  Most conventions I am up all of the last night finishing off an outfit.  At least twice I didn’t even pack my bag until 30 minutes before I had to leave, just because I’d spent the last 2 days solid finishing my outfit.

Two years ago I was up finishing a ball gown, and was ready to walk out the door…only to discover a foot of snow on the ground.  I had to beg my roommate to drive me to the airport, and after 8 hours never got there due to my flight being cancelled.  Another time I overdid the bring and buy, and it took me 40 minutes to make a 10 minute journey to the airport.

With the lack of big props this time round, I can devote half of my bag to ‘Bring and Buy’ too.  But then you have the question – what do you take?  Minami isn’t always great for selling – I make less at it cause its small and most of my stuff is only desirable to a small niche of people.  So there are a lot of things I’m leaving behind on the grounds that I don’t want to have to bring it back.  Which leaves me digging around boxes looking for the few things I have that are guaranteed to sell, and freaking out when I can’t find them.  Actually had something of a panic attack just because I couldn’t find rubber bands.

…although to be fair, I’m not sure if it’s just the convention that’s got me wired up.  I got my hair cut today – not as harsh as I wanted, chickened out somewhat – and I hate the fringe.  Got an appointment this evening to fix it, so hopefully once that’s done I’ll feel better.  Right now it’s driving me up the wall.  Normally I’d wait until I’d washed it and styled it myself, but I’ve had to fix and attack it myself constantly ever since it hit outside air.  If the person trained to style hair can’t get it to work, then something’s wrong – need another trim.  Plus the appointment ran over so I missed kettle bells – meaning I lost my last chance to see my teachers before the Academy Awards night that I’m missing.  I really wanted to say hello and wish them a good night. 

Hopefully once the hair is done, and the computer is finished and packed up I can start to relax.  There probably won’t be any updates this weekend on the grounds that I don’t get Internet at my hotel, but expect them when I get back on Monday/Tuesday.

