My hair has always been something of a contention for me.  I know what I like and what I want, but I can’t quite seem to get the styling right.  Growing up I had no say in what it looked like.  I was born blonde, then after a few years I became brunette like many do.  I had no problem with this – complete tomboyish girl, how many really care at that age?  However, my mother did, and so I found myself paraded into hairdresser after hairdresser to have it bleached back to blonde.  And cut into a bob. 

When I hit the teens, I was finally able to rebel a bit.  And when I say rebel I mean my mother couldn’t just drag me into the salon anymore.  Instead I let the bleach grow out, and grew it long.  And every day I would tie it up.  Even when I washed it I didn’t blow dry it – just tied it up and went about my day.  This way it was out of my way, never needed to style it, but when I DID…I had something to work with.

Even when I hit university and finally had some independent freedom, I didn’t do much with my hair.  I had never been interested in styling, slightly through choice, partially to tick off my mother.  To be honest, I didn’t even own a hairdryer until my stepmother flipped at this fact and bought one for me.  I did get it cut into a really short bob one time so I could cosplay Haruhi Suzumiya, but since I didn’t know how to style it, it was pretty much a disaster.  I kept having to hold back after university too, since my job didn’t allow for eccentric hairstyles.  But once I hit the office (ironically), I could do whatever I wanted – and I’ve been enjoying that.

At the moment I have a reverse two-tone bob ‘thing’ going on with my hair.  It’s navy blue on top and bleached white underneath.  Normally one would do it the other way around, but this way I don’t have to get my brown roots bleached every 4 weeks.  Instead it cuts my hair appointments down to every 3 months.  Originally my hair was pretty short with this do, but I’ve been growing it out for my Taekwondo Awards night…which I’m actually double booked for, which makes the length a little redundant. 

Don’t get me wrong, I think long hair is awesome.  I’ve been very envious of people with long hair – I can’t get mine to grow any further than my shoulder blades.  However, the downside of growing my hair out is that I have thick, thick hair…and I’m a lazy girl when it comes to my looks.  The longer it gets, the longer it takes to dry, the harder it is to style, and the more frustrating it becomes.  Within a few months of devoted growing, I snap and cut it short.  Now I’ve got an appointment to get my hair cut in a few weeks, and it was going to be a simple trim, but since I don’t need it long for anything anymore, wondering if I should give it the chop a little sooner than planned. 

Specifically – I was thinking something like this:

 Image

That’s shorter than I’ve ever had it.  Admittedly it’s not the first time I’ve had this thought.  Every time my hair gets too long for me to handle, I start thinking about hacking it off.  I would kill to be able to pull off a pixie cut or a crew cut – but if I’m being brutally honest, you need a certain bone structure to pull off that harsh a style and not come off as butch.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I just don’t think I could get away with it.  Instead, I’m working my way up, cutting it shorter and shorter each time.  This is just long enough to let me style it a bit outside of pixie.

I’ve had it cropped at the top of my neck, and shaved the sides of my head for other hairstyles.  Had different lengths and anime-style cuts (one of which my parents loathed with every fibre of their being – but my stylist seems really eager for me to try again), but maybe it’s time to go a little further and take my two tone into extremes.  Will talk to my stylist and see if he thinks it’s doable with my hair.

