Tags

Before my birthday, I listed the 10 things I’ve achieved with my life.  Now that the birthday’s passed, think it’s time to look at the 10 things I still want to achieve.

Or at least this was the plan.  It turns out this was a little hard for me, because an awful lot of things people usually strive towards aren’t on my list.  I don’t really have any desire to own a property, and I definitely don’t want to get married – pretty sure I don’t even want kids.  So with that in mind, I actually found it hard to come up with 10 life goals.  In the end, I could only come up with 5:

Get Published

Ah yes, the ‘ever since I could walk’ dream raises its little head again.  I still want to get published – not as an EBook or just online for personal enjoyment.  I want to see my name on a book that was approved by a literary agent and taken on by a publisher.  The old fashioned way I’ve been dreaming of following since I was in my teens.  The field may be dying, but that’s just made it more competitive, and I have no intention of backing down from that route.

Achieve Blackbelt

Though I may be a slow learner, and doing more damage to myself than my opponent, I haven’t come this far to give up now.  It might take ten years – hell it might take 20, but I want to stand up and hold that black belt one day.  If just to prove to myself that I could do it.

Find a job I love

Although my job isn’t hellish, it’s not what I want to be doing.  But I’ve also slowly come to accept that I’ll probably never get into publishing at this point.  It’s not impossible, but I just don’t have the connections and necessities to even get in the front door, so it will take a miracle I can’t perform or put into action.  This means my final goal of becoming a literary agent is even further from my grasp.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t find a job I love.  If I can’t make it in my chosen field, there are hundreds of others out there.  What I want is a job that has me smiling every morning – I know that’s what everybody wants, but that doesn’t make it any less of a goal.  If I can’t get where I need to go this year, it’s time to look elsewhere.

Travel the world

Definitely a goal I’ve been putting a lot of effort into doing, yet ironically, the only goal on this list that may never be fully achieved, I’ll die of old age before I see every corner of this planet.

Admittedly, I will probably never be able to grab a bag and go wandering for a year, but I have seen a lot of the world, and this year may increase that number of countries significantly.  When I look back on my life, I want to have trouble remembering everywhere I’ve been, just because there are so many places to remember.  As I get older, I want to understand the world I live in as much as I understand myself – the two should always go hand in hand.

Own a dog

Ah, the dream of a child that will never come to fruition until I’m retired.  I love animals – we had a cat, a rabbit and a dog growing up, and I loved them all.  But I’ve always wanted to be surrounded by animals, especially a dog of my own, and I’ve always been eager to get into a position where I could have one.  Of course, the older you get, the more attention you realise they need, and that when you’re constantly going on holidays and living in rented accommodation, you really don’t have a lifestyle suitable for an animal.  Not even a rat.

So when I retire, and find I have to settle down, I’m going to get myself a constant furry companion.  That I can give all the love and attention a pet deserves.

They’re 5 fairly simple and (in some cases, childish) dreams.  But I don’t think that’s a bad thing.  I appreciate people who have the timer list – find a partner, marry, kids, house.  But those aren’t things I worry about – I want the little girl’s dreams to come true, the pet, the book, the travel.  Anything else on top of that is a bonus.

