Tags

After spending most of winter listening to members of my Taekwondo class rave about Herbalife, and watching a certain someone go from competent to just plain scary, I’ve decided to give the trial pack of Herbalife a try. 

Basically, its meal supplements in shake form, along with a handful of different snacks and tablets.  I’m not a big fan of milkshake supplements, but figured that I could use the help cutting down the fat and getting my body in the shape I’d like to see.

Today was the first day…and I immediately failed when I realised I didn’t have any milk in the house, and had to pass my favourite bakery.  One sausage softie later, I’m banging my head against the wall.  I planned to make up for it by having a milkshake instead of dinner, but due to me coming home so late, I (again) forgot to go to the shops and didn’t have milk…so had normal dinner anyway.

On the plus side, I didn’t have any of my normal snacks and chocolate, so the milkshake I had for lunch definitely kept me in check for that.  Tomorrow I’ll make sure to have one for breakfast and see how well it works when I do it properly (I’m not even taking my wallet to work to guarantee I don’t stop by the stupid bakery again).

Sadly, think I need to do the whole ‘no wallet’ thing more often.  I am perfectly happy to admit that food is my biggest vice.  I don’t smoke, and I don’t drink – but I do eat to excess.  Walking past shops and bakeries and takeaways is daily torture, I don’t know how to say no when there is instant food and my tummy’s growling.

That’ll be the double edged sword with my new flat too.  Where I am right now is a bus ride to a supermarket – so I don’t like to go out and buy milk and fruit, so by the end of the week I’m all out.  BUT, it also means when I’m craving chocolate and crisps, it’s usually too much hassle.

My new flat is right next to two supermarkets, so it’ll be easy to keep getting fresh fruit and milk.  The downside…I’ll be near an almost constant supply of chocolate and crisps (and as an added bonus, there’s a dozen takeaways along the way – even a Baskin and Robbins on my street!).

So fingers crossed that I can actually buckle down and keep to this diet.  At least enough to lose a little fat and gain a little more muscle.

